Moving On: New Year, New Things to Do.

This time last year, I sat down and made a list of goals I wanted to accomplish in 2013. There were 4 things on that list, and I only met 1 of them. Well, I kind of kicked that goal’s butt. I wanted to lose 25 pounds in 2013, and I finished the year down 43! If I’m only going to do one big thing in a year, I think getting my health back is a pretty good one, right? As for the other three, well I’ve only just decided what I want to do for my Master’s degree (still have to figure out how to pay for it without having my feet in those cement blocks that are student loans), didn’t travel much (I did get an annual membership to the San Diego Zoo & Safari Park–Let me tell you, walking those hills at the Zoo helped me lose some of those 43 pounds–and an annual pass to Disneyland), and I’m still looking for full-time work, but it’s a new year and those things will just roll over to the 2014 goals.

That being said, here’s what I’d like to do in 2014:

1. Start working on my Master’s in July, or at least be ready to start it come January 2015. 6 months to a year to study for & take the GMAT, apply to the program, and work out the finances sounds reasonable, right? And for those of you wondering, an MBA in Marketing from ASU can be done online for about $55K.

2. Continue to be healthy, get in a little bit better shape. Let’s face it, we can all be a little healthier than when we woke up this morning. So do that, I want to:

A) Lose another 20 pounds and drop my Body Mass Index to under 25 so that I’m no longer considered “over-weight.” This morning, I woke up weighing 216 pounds (down from 259 one year ago today), with a BMI of 28.4 (versus 34.2 a year ago).

B) Log 1,500 miles walking and/or running. I hit 975 miles in 2013, and that’s with getting started a couple of weeks in to January, being sidelined for about 6 weeks in March/April with a bum knee, and being super lazy in December. I’d have to average 125 miles/month, and in June ’13, I logged 130 miles, 128 in July, 114 in October, 102 in May. Definitely doable, especially if I:

C) Train for and run at least one 10K. I was planning on running Pat’s Run (4.2 miles, so a little more than a 5K) in April, but I don’t know if I’ll be able to make it out to Tempe then. I’d LOVE to run the Disneyland 10K later this summer, we’ll see how the finances are when registration opens up and how fast it sells out. Fingers crossed!

D) Continue to eat healthy. Aside from the exercise, this has been the biggest change I’ve made over the past year. No more fast food (aside from the occasional trip to my local taco shop or slice of pizza) and a lot less candy/baked goods/sweets/soda have all helped me drop the pounds and get back in shape.

3. Get that Big Boy Job. Substitute teaching isn’t consistent enough–if I don’t work, I don’t get paid, and I don’t have to tell you that stinks. The fact that I want to get an MBA in Marketing should tell you a little something about the direction I’m heading–away from education. Between subbing this past year, the handful of interviews I had this summer, I’ve come to the realization that I just don’t have the desire to be in the classroom anymore. What do I want to do? Well, there are a lot of things, and those skills I developed teaching will transfer over to a whole mess of different professions.

4. Travel, travel, travel. I did make it up to Orange County a couple of times in 2013, but I never left Southern California. I have friends in the Phoenix area that I have seen since moving just after Thanksgiving 2011, and I’d like to see them. There’s family in Las Vegas, Sacramento, Seattle, Rhode Island who I’d like to see more often. And the number of friends I’ve made on social media over the past few years that I’d like to hang out with at a Giants game or over a beer or two are entirely too many to count. I guess I’d just like to get out of San Diego/SoCal a little more often (not that there’s anything wrong with being here).

So. That’s what I’m thinking for 2014. And after a poor showing in 2013, it’d be nice to see the Giants make some noise in the standings and the post-season again. So they didn’t win the World Series in 2013? I’d be happy if they do it every other year.

What do you want to do this year?

About Mark Dunsmore

San Diego native, Arizona State alum, San Francisco Giants & Disney/Pixar fanatic.
This entry was posted in General stuff and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Moving On: New Year, New Things to Do.

  1. cavegirlmba says:

    Wow – you are really determined. Good luck with your plans!

    Like

Leave a Reply

